I am excited about the possibilities for my students using an iPad in the classroom, and I just discovered a great way for my students to earn one for our school: Collect old music CDs.

I was reading The Unofficial Apple Weblog (TUAW) tonight and came across their article titled “iPodMeister gives you an iPad for your old CDs.” According to the article  if you can collect 600 CDs with the original jewel case and artwork, iPodMeister will give you a free iPad.

Here is the breakdown:

iPad w/ Wi-Fi 16 GB = 600 CDs or DVDs.
iPad w/ Wi-Fi 32 GB = 700 CDs or DVDs.
iPad w/ Wi-Fi 64 GB = 800 CDs or DVDs.
iPad w/ Wi-Fi + 3G 16GB = 950 CDs or DVDs.
iPad w/ Wi-Fi + 3G 32GB = 1050 CDs or DVDs.
iPad w/ Wi-Fi + 3G 64GB = 1150 CDs or DVDs.

There are rules about what CDs they will accept, but I think a school could encourage their students to bring in old CDs from home. (C’mon, everybody has at least one CD they shouldn’t have purchased. Culture Club? Bananarama? Flock of Seagulls?) It reduces clutter, is kind to the environment (Remember: Reduce, Recycle, Reuse) and it beats trying to sell them on eBay. You could have a contest to see which grade, class, homeroom, or team brings in the most usable CDs.

I’m going to try it.  Who’s in with me? Leave your comments and suggestions below.

